Iran – flag

Iran / the Islamic Republic of Iran

Irān / Jomhuri-ye Eslāmi-ye Irān (Persian)

ایران‎      جمهوری اسلامی ایران‎

> Iran – all posts

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • Country in Western Asia, the world’s biggest caviar exporter and saffron producer
  • Capital: Tehran
  • Largest cities: Mashhad, Isfahan, Karaj, Shiraz, Tabriz, Qom, Ahvaz, Kermanshah, Urmia
  • Area: 1,648,195 km² (water 7.07%)
  • Population: 83,183,741; density: 48/km² (4th-most-populous country in the world, the most-populous Muslim-majority country)
  • Official language: Persian
  • Borders: Iraq, Turkey, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Turkmenistan, Afghanistan, Pakistan
  • Seas: Caspian Sea, Persian Gulf, Strait of Hormuz, Gulf of Oman
  • Highest point: Mount Damavand (5,610 m)
  • Lowest point: Caspian Sea (−28 m)
  • Longest river: Karun (950 km)
  • Largest lake: Lake Urmia  (5,200 km²)
  • Climate: diverse: hot desert climate, cold desert climate, hot semi-arid climate, cold semi-arid climate, hot-summer Mediterranean climate, continental Mediterranean climate
  • Religion: 99.4% Islam (official), 0.6% other
  • Government: Unitary Khomeinist presidential Islamic republic
  • National day: Iranian Islamic Republic Day (Ruz e Jomhuri ye Eslāmi‎) – 12 of the month of Farvardin (1979)
  • Currency: Rial (ریال) (IRR)
  • Time zone: UTC+3:30 (IRST), summer (DST) UTC+4:30 (IRDT)
  • Calling code: +98
  • ISO 3166 code: IR
  • Internet TLD: .ir
  • Driving side: right
  • Electricity: 230V supply voltage and 50Hz, plug types: C and F


REGIONS (5) and provinces / ostān (31)

REGION 1 – capital: Tehran

Alborz Province

Golestan Province

Mazandaran Province

Qazvin Province

Qom Province

Semnan Province

Tehran Province

REGION 2 – capital: Isfahan and/or Shiraz

Bushehr Province

Chaharmahal and Bakhtiari Province

Fars Province

Hormozgan Province

Isfahan Province

Kohgiluyeh and Boyer-Ahmad Province

REGION 3 – capital: Tabriz

Ardabil Province

East Azerbaijan Province

Gilan Province

Kordestan Province

West Azerbaijan Province

Urmia | Lake Urmia 

Zanjan Province

REGION 4 – capital: Kermanshah

Hamadan Province

Ilam Province

Kermanshah Province

Khuzestan Province

Lorestan Province

Markazi Province

REGION 5 – capital: Mashhad

Kerman Province

North Khorasan Province

Razavi Khorasan Province

Sistan and Baluchestan Province

South Khorasan Province

Yazd Province


Lake Urmia



Iran at EXPO 2020 Dubai

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


A VIEW FROM THE TOP (aerial photography)

Iran From The Top (all posts)


Bijan Mortazavi – Amvaj

© Agata Ziz • All photos were taken by me • All rights reserved