Den Haag

The Hague (Den Haag) – the third-largest city in the Netherlands (after Amsterdam and Rotterdam), the capital of the South Holland province, the seat of government of the Netherlands (the capital of the Netherlands is Amsterdam). Home of some 200 international governmental organisations, among them: the International Court of Justice (of the United Nations).

Die Haghe was first mentioned in 1242, two centuries later as Des Graven hage (“The Count’s Wood”). ‘s Gravenhage is used till now in official documents.

June 2016

Ξ The Hague webpage

See also:

ScheveningenAmsterdamLeiden, a key to discoveries

Netherlands on

© Agata Ziz • All photos were taken by me • All rights reserved

One thought on “Den Haag

  1. Pingback: Amsterdam | 40thousandkm

Share your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.