Drenthe – a province (since 1796) in the northeastern Netherlands, with capital in Assen and sparsely populated rural area of 2680 km2. Bordered by Overijssel, Friesland, Groningen (The Netherlands) and Lower Saxony (Germany). The name “Drenthe” most likely comes from “thrija-hantja” (“three lands”). More than half of Drenthe inhabitants speaks the Drents dialect (with different versions in each town/village), from the Low Saxon language group.

June 2016

Ξ “Visit Drenthe” webpage

See also:

In Drenthe: Diever | Dieverbrug | Dwingeloo | Time travel: a rideTime travel: The Watchman Mill | Time travel: KlompenTime travel: Balloo | Fire

Nature in Drenthe: Drenthe flowersFlowers in Drenthe | Drenthe sunset

Netherlands on 40thousandkm.com

© Agata Ziz • All photos were taken by me • All rights reserved